Greg has released 14 titles on his own Espresso record label since 1987, as downloads, on CDs, and originally on cassettes. Greg named his label Espresso because oroingally he duplicated all his casstettes in real time, each an individually made serving of music for the listener. These releases vary widely in style and ensemble format.

Placeholder image

Stick Figures (1993, remastered 2003)

Solo original compositions
1. Morning Song
2. Charmed Life
3. Adrift
4. Ojos Verdes
5. Big Meadows
6. Sarah
7. Pentàstick
8. Sunday
9. Dedication (in memory of E. E. Howard, Jr.)
10. Astro Meets Daisy
11. Softly She Walks
12. Blue Ridge (before and after Sunset)
Available on disc and download from:
Placeholder image Placeholder image Placeholder image

Placeholder image

Lift (2000)

Progressive rock and improv from the Greg Howard Band (Jan Wolfkamp, Jan van Olffen and Hubert Heeringa
1. Dissent
2. Cross Country
3. The Offering
4. Still Water
5. Chrysalis
6. The Effect of Marco's First Lekker Bakkie in the Morning
7. Albatross
8. Restless
9. Nørd
10. Blues for Ayman
11. Experimental Sunrise
Available download only from:
Placeholder image Placeholder image

Placeholder image

Sol (1997)

Latin jazz and flamenco-inspired originals for trio, and full band, plus Erich Ferstl's "Guitarresque"
Greg Howard: Stick, alto sax, bamboo sax
John D'earth: trumpet
Tim Reynolds: acoustic and electric guitars
Robert Jospé: drums
Darrell Rose: African percussion
Kevin Davis: percussion
Jeff Decker: tenor sax
Dawn Thompson: percussion

1. Carnivàl
2. El Chicle
3. Goya's Dream
4. Guitaresque
5. The Crossing
6. Sangre de Cristo
7. Blues for Ayman
8. Grillos (solo)
Available only on CD from:
Placeholder image

Placeholder image

Water on the Moon (1998)

Greg's one-hour non-stop live improvised "Stick concerto". Greg recorded this in 1998 at Miller's in Charlottesville. This is a truly unique sonic expedition, but with a strong suite-like framework (don't let the word improvisation scare you...)

"Imagine Michael Hedges, Tony Levin, Stanley Jordan, Victor Wooten, Michael Brook, Jon Durant, Pat Metheny and Jeff Beck trading licks...Amazing effort and a hands-down winner."
-John W. Patterson, Progression Magazine

Available as a single track download from
Placeholder image

Placeholder image

The Holly and the Ivy, Classic Christmas Selections (2017)

Duets with flutist Angela Kelly
1. The Holly and the Ivy (traditional)
2. The First Noel (traditional)
3. Winter from the Four Seasons (A. Vivaldi)
4. Ukrainian Carol (M. Leontovich)5. In the Bleak Midwinter (G. Holst)
6. Joy to the World (traditional)
7. What Child Is This? (traditional)
8. O Holy Night (A. Adam)
9. O Come, O Come, Emanuel (traditional)
10. Jesu, Joy of Man's Desiring (J.S. Bach)
11. Angels We Have Heard on High (traditional)
12. I Saw Three Ships (traditional)
13. Silent Night (F. Gruber)
Available on disc and download from:
Placeholder image Placeholder image Placeholder image

Placeholder image

AZUL (2013)

Live studio improvisations with John D'earth (trumpet) and Brian Caputo (drums)

Track Listing (total time 68:11)

 1. Wave after Wave after...
 2. Night Birds
 3. Boys Make Noise
 4. Seared, the Seer Soared
 5. Wildlands
 6. Tear Jay
 7. Don't Be a Baby (note to self)
MOBY SUITE (tracks 8,9,10)
 8. Queequeg
 9. Whales Versus Ships
10. Ahab's Release

Available on disc and download from:
Placeholder image Placeholder image

Placeholder image

Ether Ore (2005)

Greg explores the sonic universe on these live improvised pieces. Everything from spacey soundscapes to high-energy improv grooves. Includes a bonus-minute DVD of Dan Chapman's film of Greg's performance of "Big Bang 4965" at the San Jose Stick concert in 2003.

1.The First Day 02:09
2. Ether Ore 11:03
3. Tim Was Here 01:55
4. Neptune's Wake 09:27
5. Snow Falling on Eno 02:58
6. Freedom of Expansion 25:33
7. Deep Field Calling 03:08